A day at the amusement park…

April 24, 2010

Something that for me personally is connected to spring is the amusement park “Gröna Lund” on Djurgården in Stockholm. I got my first job there when I was fifteen years old. The thing that connects the two is that the park always opens in the spring. My first year at Gröna lund was back in 2001, and it was as said, my very first job. And the reason that spring is that connected to this park, is because I continued working there for four more years after that. So every spring you just waited for that day, when the gates finally opened. Because you knew that summer was finally coming and a new season at the amusement park had just started. The atmosphere there is unique, it was for me, back then, even magical. But the last and fifth year, when I got called up on stage during the after-season party, to receive an award for “faithful service”, I felt that it was enough, it was time to move on and widen my work-horizon. It’s is a great place to work, you learn a lot, especially in customer management, you get customers that are everything from 3-yearolds to drunk middle-age men, to pensioners. But sometime you have to move on. Even though, I always get spring-feelings when I see the Gröna Lund-ads in the paper for “this year’s grand opening”. And it will always have a special place in my heart, since it is thanks to Gröna Lund I today have a wonderful fiancée, and now a gorgeous son, as it was there I met her.

I have attached a video with a song that reminds me very much of Gröna Lund, It is by a Swedish band called “Hellacopters”, they played at Gröna Lund on Friday the 13th in the summer of 2002. They video was also recorded in the amusement park. The song is called “By the grace of god”.

Jonathan Kugelberg, Jakobsberg 10-04-08, post #2

Leave a Reply

