Spring = Music

March 30, 2010

Name: Sepehr Amoor Pour

Date: 2010-03-30

Time: 12:43 pm

Place: Borggården at KTH

My location while writing this post

To me spring, and indeed all the other seasons of the year, is about music. I listen to a lot of music and as a guitar player I come into contact with many different styles of music. So, I tend to shift my musical preferences somewhat between seasons. While winter is a perfect time of year for more heavy and gloomy tunes that fits with the darkness and cold, spring is a time for joyous music containing lots of acoustic guitars, major chords and uplifting notes. The perfect example of this kind of music is “Here Comes the Sun” by TheBeatles which, ironically, is a celebration of spring approaching after a “long, cold winter”.

Sitting outside and listening to that kind of music is absolutelymagical. I think the reason for this is a combination of warming sunshine, cooling spring breeze and the sound of harmonious music. However, it’s not just the music itself that triggers magical spring feelings; it’s also about the good memories contained in the music. For example, one of my favourite springtime songs is “Bell Bottom Blues” by Derek and the Dominos, which is a rather sad love song characterized by wailing electric guitars and the melancholic singing of Eric Clapton, because it reminds me of my last spring in high school and the good times I had hanging out with my friends back then.

So to recap, spring, to me, is all about good music and the nice memories that they contain.

Leave a Reply

