Interviewing Monica Nejerstedt

March 29, 2010

Name: Monica Nejerstedt

Date: 2010-03-29

Time 11:40

Place: Humlegården, Stockholm

Interviewer:  Sebastian Brieger

Interview:

SB: What does spring mean to you?

MN: Spring is the best time of the year! You have things to look forward to, like summer, and during springtime all the lovely flowers blossom. I just sent my husband an MMS with a picture of a crocus.

SB: Where do you usually hang about during spring?

MN: My husband and me have been living in the country since we retired, so that’s where I am most of the time. I don’t really like it so much though. I’m more of a city person. 

SB: How come you don’t like being in the country? Isn’t that the best place to be during springtime?

MN: Well yes, it is very beautiful, but it gets a bit lonely and cold. We heat our house with a wood stove, and the wood we collect ourselves. But when spring comes it gets better. Then we can go for long walks with our dogs, and start pottering in the garden.

SB: So you have an interest in garden work?

MN: Yes, absolutely! I love growing things and making the garden look nice.

SB: What do you grow?

MN: Mostly edible things like squash, broccoli etc. It’s a totally different feeling eating self-grown vegetables and fruit.

SB: So why are you in town this lovely spring day?

MN: To tell you the truth I just must come in to town every now and again. As I told you I like the city, and it’s an opportunity for me to get out and do something. Soon I’m going to a meeting with a friend of mine regarding pension. I worked as a midwife and my pension is a disgrace! My advice to you is to get a good job. Surviving on six thousand a month is not easy.

SB: I understand. One last question: Do you have any pleasant or special memory related to spring?

MN: As a matter of fact I do. When I worked as a midwife I was rewarded a special token of gratitude, or price if you may. It’s a lovely golden watch, and I was celebrated with a ceremony including a big dinner. It was really great actually, although I’m not carrying the watch today, so I cant show you it. But there’s something really special about being appreciated for ones work!

SB: I can imagine. It sounds to me like it’s a good memory. Thank you for your time and have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

